If you’ve listened to the June edition of our Summer ’17 Playlist series, you’ve come across Goldlink’s “Crew”. The standout track features an infectious chorus from 21-year-old singer-songwriter, Brent Faiyaz. Simply put, “Crew” is an early candidate for song of the summer.

On the strength of this incredible track, we needed to discover more music from Brent Faiyaz. Listening through his SoundCloud page we’ve heard an incredible talent that is going to make a mark on the music industry.

His lyrics provide a unique, honest perspective on relationships. On his track “Poison” he sings, “Girl you do damage to me/You know I love it, Yeah I love you/Ain’t nothing better for me now”.

Speaking with Noisey, Faiyaz explained his thought process when creating “Poison”:

We just got back to Hollywood from a late session and my producer Ben [Free] came to me with the rough idea of a song called ‘Poison’ and played it like it was nothing special. After the third line I knew I had to sing that. I was waiting for that record. It was about a girl that was no good for him. We sat down, wrote it out around his story and built it like a movie. I would’ve never thought of that. It challenged my writing and made me work outside of my comfort zone vocally and conceptually.”

That level of detail can be heard throughout Faiyaz’ growing music library. In addition to his solo artistry, Faiyaz is also in a newly formed trio with producers Dpat and Atu, Sonder. They just released their first EP Into that builds on the Faiyaz’ incredible sound.

Faiyaz described the new project to The Fader, “Into is a reflection of shit that my ego won’t allow me to speak on in everyday conversation. It’s everything from relationships with women and family to living too fast.”

When you listen to Brent Faiyaz, his tracks have an impact on you. You’ll hear deep honesty paired with a fresh sound, reminiscent of 90’s R&B. To introduce you to Brent Faiyaz’ artistry, we’ve collected 10 of his best in our latest Starter Pack Playlist. Check it out below.

Stay up to date with what Faiyaz does next by following him on SoundCloud and Instagram.

Track List

  1. Goldlink Feat. Brent Faiyaz & Shy Glizzy – “Crew”
  2. Paperboy Fabe Feat. Brent Faiyaz – “Language”
  3. Brent Faiyaz – “Poison”
  4. Brent Faiyaz – “No One Knows”
  5. Sonder – “Too Fast”
  6. Sonder – “Lovely”
  7. Brent Faiyaz – “Running on E”
  8. Brent Faiyaz – “DSN”
  9. Brent Faiyaz – “Allure”
  10. Brent Faiyaz – “Invite Me”

Leave a Reply